bleary in the kingdom of loathing

adventures near a seaside town

Untitled Run: P HCNP, day 1

Another Day One, another confusing mess. I’m adventuring with a He-Boulder, a Slimeling, and a VIP Lounge Key for the first time.

So first things. I permed Pastamastery at the end of last run, deciding that I’ll take Entangling Noodles this run, and pick up Leash of Linguini in a future run. That means I’m working with Moxious Madrigal, Ode to Booze, the two Cocktailcrafting skills, Tao of the Terrapin and Amphibian Sympathy. That’s just one buff I need to keep running.

The bounty today was in the Outskirts of the Knob. I suppose this was my top priority. One of the difficult things about low-skill lucrecore is knowing how to budget for your bounty turns, especially on the first day. Could I have post-poned adventuring at the Knob until a more advantageous time? Probably, but I’m not sure how to figure it out.

[0] Ascension Start [0,0,0]
 #> Turn [0] pulled 1 Clan VIP Lounge key
 #> Turn [0] pulled 1 floaty stone sphere
 #> Turn [0] pulled 1 hobo code binder
 -> Turn [0] Slimeling
[1-3] Unlucky Sewer [0,0,0]
 +> [1] Got worthless gewgaw
 +> [2] Got worthless trinket
 +> [3] Got spices
[4-11] Outskirts of The Knob [3,11,4]
 -> Turn [5] Blood-Faced Volleyball
 => Level 2 (Turn 11)! (3/5/3)
[12] Spooky Forest [0,0,0]
 +> [12] Got stolen accordion, ten-leaf clover
[13] Lemon Party [0,0,0]

I started out by sewering for two trinkets and spices. I took my slimeling to the Knob for two turns, which yielded a scimitar and pants, a nice upgrade for my equipment. Then I switched to the volleyball until I made level 2. This opened the Forest, where I picked up an accordion on the first turn. I made a Rock and Roll Legend. Was this a good idea, given that the only AT buff I use regularly is the Madrigal? I’m thinking I probably should have smithed my epic weapon instead. Mistake number one.

[14-27] Outskirts of The Knob [12,25,11]
 +> [15] Got Knob Goblin encryption key
 +> [19] Got chef's hat
 +> [20] Got chef's hat, little paper umbrella
 +> [21] Got magical ice cubes
 +> [22] Got little paper umbrella
 +> [23] Got coconut shell
 +> [24] Got coconut shell
[28] Guild Challenge [0,0,0]
[29-31] Outskirts of The Knob [7,5,3]

I visited the VIP pool table and picked up the myst buff, which is a pretty nice MP restorer. While this was running, I could cast all my Pastamasterys and Cocktailcraftings, and get Madrigal going pretty good. Back to the Knob. At turn 31, I started to get nervous, since I didn’t have much in the way of food or drink.

[32-37] Haunted Pantry [8,4,7]
 +> [32] Got quasi-ethereal macaroni fragments
 +> [35] Got razor-sharp can lid
 -> Turn [37] He-Boulder
[38-39] Haunted Kitchen [0,2,2]
 +> [39] Got leftovers of indeterminate origin
 o> Ate 1 ancient frozen dinner (7 adventures gained) [0,8,0]
 }> [39] Disintegrated demonic icebox
 -> Turn [39] Blood-Faced Volleyball
 => Level 3 (Turn 39)! (6/8/5)

I switched to the Pantry, opened the Kitchen, and then decided I was going to try out my new He-Boulder. One thing I learned very quickly was that the He-Boulder is also Whelp/Leprechaun, which was nice. I need to remember that, even though I also have a Gibberer, which is Whelp/Potato.

[40-45] Outskirts of The Knob [13,10,9]
 +> [40] Got chef's hat
 +> [45] Got filthy lucre

The rest of the day was kind of a mess. I picked up my lucre, and then bounced around from Pantry to Kitchen to Barrels, looking for consumables. I made Level 4 too late to take advantage of either my dry noodles or my garnishes. I stupidly held onto the non-uprgradable rum and cola from the Barrels and drank two vodka martinis before hitting Level 4. This was a mistake. I got confused about the He-Boulder, and tried to use a red ray in the Slime Tube. That didn’t work. I fell one can lid short of a gourd potion. The worst thing I did was finish the day by eating catsup by misclicking in Mafia. This burned 100 meat and a trinket. Sigh.

I won’t reproduce for you the log from turns 46-78, since they’re not worth looking at. I did pick up some scintillating powder. I’m wondering if it wouldn’t be better on Day One to rush up to Level 4, and then start worrying about the bounty? I need to think about it more, I guess. It’s nice to be ascending again, though. Sure beats farming for Hobo Nickels.

Tomorrow. Okay. I need to use my yellow ray on a Harem Girl tomorrow. The day after that, a hippy. I should open the Beach and start vacationing. That means more sewering. I need at least three trinkets (meatcar, epic weapon, and a clover) tomorrow. I should finish the tavern quest tomorrow. With entangling noodles, I ought to be able to get the monocle, I think.

Written by bleary

March 6, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Posted in day one, hc-04, pastamancer